A Little Church History. . .
Bee RIdge Presbyterian Church was established in 1917 with 29 charter members. Mrs. Potter Palmer, through the Venice Land Company presented the church with two corner lots at Proctor & McIntosh Roads in 1919. The first church was dedicated on December 7, 1919. In 1926 a major hurricane demolished the church; it was rebuilt in 1927 only to be struck by lightning three months later, and burned to the ground. The third church, which still stands today, was built and dedicated on August 27, 1927. Growth of church membership in the 1940's & 1950's led to the construction of the present sanctuary which was designed by prominent architect Victor Lundy of the Sarasota School of Architecture. The completed sanctuary was dedicated on May 25, 1958, and a new education building and fellowship were dedicated in 1963.
Since our beginning in 1917, Bee Ridge has been devoted to loving God with our whole hearts and loving our neighbors as we love ourselves. Bee Ridge's outreach continues to both deep and wide. Bee Ridge members and friends gather each week to worship God and experience the presence of the Living Savior. Our unique style of relaxed, traditional worship invites everyone to feel welcome. As we meet together in Christ's name, the Holy Spirit renews us and prepares us for another week of loving and sharing with others, wherever the Spirit leads us to serve. Our faith and service to the larger world is strengthened by the ongoing connections we have with 38 other churches in Peace River Presbytery, other Presbyterian Church (USA) congregations throughout country, and with all people who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord.